Hlanti Returns for Chiefs Against Sundowns in MTN8
Hlanti Returns for Chiefs Against Sundowns in MTN8

Posted in News, Team News on Sep 02, 2023.

Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundown are in action this afternoon in the first round of a two-legged MTN8 semi-final at FNB Stadium.

Chiefs and Sundowns were in action on Wednesday and both managed to register away wins, against Stellenbosch FC and Polokwane respectively. Each team managed to score two goals in those DStv Premiership encounters.

To advance to the MTN8 semi-finals, Chiefs beat Cape Town City 2-1, and Sundowns narrowly beat Moroka Swallows 1-0 a fortnight ago.

This afternoon’s match will see Kaizer Chiefs make one change from their midweek encounter with S’fiso Hlanti returning to replace Reeve Frosler at the back.

Interestingly, Kaizer Chiefs’ latest recruit Jasond Gonzales will be on the bench as he makes the match squad for the first time after receiving his work permit.

Coach Molefi Ntseki has put faith in the team that played the last two matches as he made just one change in each match.

The formation is still 4-3-3 for this afternoon.

Wednesday’s man of the match against Stellenbosch FC, Brandon Petersen is the goalkeeper.

Amakhosi have Thatayaone Ditlhokwe and Given Msimango at centre-back. Hlanti is at left-back and Zitha Kwinika play his third game in a row at right-back.

Midfield maestro, Edson Castillo will once again work with Yusuf Maart and Mduduzi Mdantsane in the middle of the park.

The man who scored a cracker on Wednesday, Pule Mmodi, is on the left wing, while Tebogo Potsane, is on the right wing.

Ashley Du Preez is up front.

Petersen captains the ship.

The game will have Skhumbuzo Gasa as the referee. He is assisted by Kgara Mokoena and Jantjie Dlamini. The fourth official is Cedrick Muvhali.

Amakhosi and Masandawana kick off at 15:00 at FNB Stadium. The Wafa-Wafa first leg semi-final match is live on SuperSport’s PSL Channel 202 on DStv, SABC 1 and various SABC radio stations - with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI: Petersen © (1), Hlanti (23), Ditlhokwe (24), Msimango (25), Kwinika (4), Maart (8), Castillo (17), Mdantsane (3), Potsane (11), Mmodi (13), Du Preez (9)

Subs: Khune (32); Nj Ngcobo (27), Frosler (39), Solomons (18), Matlou (22), Shabalala (42), Radebe (33), Saile Basomboli (21), Gonzales (14)

Coach: Molefi Ntseki

Sundowns XI: Williams (32); Mudau (25), Boutouil (13), Mvala (34), Coetzee (40), Mokoena (4), Modiba (17), Zwane © (18), Allende (11), Maema (35), Ribeiro Costa (23)

Subs: Onyango (1); Lebusa (5), Kekana (20), Mashego (14), Aubass (19), Mkhulise (21), Mabena (22), Mendieta (15), Nku (7)

Coach: Rhulani Mokwena

Share this article: