Dolly and Bvuma Make Final Bafana Team - Kaizer Chiefs FC
Dolly and Bvuma Make Final Bafana Team

Posted in Features, News on Mar 15, 2022.

Kaizer Chiefs duo of Bruce Bvuma and Keagan Dolly have been called up to represent South Africa in two friendly matches that will take place during next FIFA International break set to run from 21 to 29 March.

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos named his final 23-man squad that will take on West African country Guinea and world champions France in two tough friendlies on Monday.

Bafana have not played any match against a non-African opponent since November 2018 when they faced Paraguay in the Nelson Mandela Challenge staged at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

According to Broos, the two encounters will be used as a dress rehearsal for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers that will first take place in June.

Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Brandon Petersen was named in the preliminary squad and was on the verge of making the final cut but eventually dropped after he picked up an injury.

The match against Guinea will take place in Belgium on 25 March and the encounter against the world champions France will be played on 29 March in Lille (France).

Another player that has been called up for national duty is goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi whose national team Nigeria will take on fellow West Africans Ghana in two crucial 2022 World Cup Qualifiers on 25 and 29 March. The two encounters will determine which country will be in Qatar for the biggest football showpiece later this year.


Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu)

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Terrence Mashego (Cape Town City), Lyle Lakay (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (unattached), Rushine de Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Khuliso Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bandile Shandu (Orlando Pirates), Nkosinathi Sibisi (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Athenkosi Mcaba (Stellenbosch FC)

Midfielders: Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Kaizer Chiefs), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy), Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Goodman Mosele (Orlando Pirates), Thabang Monare (Orlando Pirates)

Strikers: Fagrie Lakay (Pyramids FC, Egypt), Percy Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Minnesota, USA), Lyle Forster (Westerlo, Belgium), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC)

Share this article: