Chiefs reserve keeper in Bafana squad
Chiefs reserve keeper in Bafana squad

Posted in News on Oct 16, 2002.

Kaizer Chiefs reserve goalkeeper Aubrey Mathibe was named in the Bafana Bafana squad to participate in a four-nations tournament in Tanzania next week.

Bafana Bafana technical staff were forced to name an inexperienced squad for the four-nations tournament in Tanzania as Premier Soccer League teams held on to their regulars stars.

The team will assemble in Johannesburg on Friday in the evening and depart for Tanzania on Saturday. The first match will be on Wednesday, 23 October against Kenya in Arusha.

Depending on the result Bafana will play their second match on Saturday, 26 October, either at 2pm for a 3rd and 4th place playoff or at 4pm in the final.

Bafana will then return on Monday, 28 October at 13h45.

The team:

Goalkeepers: Aubrey Tladi Mathibe (Kaizer Chiefs) and John Tlale (Spartak)

Defenders: Lucas Hlomelang, Meshack Motloung (Jomo Cosmos), Sphiwe Mkhonza and Lesley Langa (Lamontiville Golden Arrows), Saul Molapo (Manning Rangers), Tony Coyle (Wits University) and Japie Motale (SuperSport United)

Midfielders: Tshepo Tsoane and Sibeko Sibeko (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Welcome Mazibuko (African Wanderers), Mzunani Mgwigwi (Bush Bucks), Phumlani Dindi and Frank Makua (Dynamos)

Strikers: Fees Moloi (Santos), Jason Lakay (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Stanley Sibeko (Pietersburg Pillars) and Lebohang Kukame (Jomo Cosmos).

Share this article: