Chiefs simply irresistible
Chiefs simply irresistible

Posted in News on May 27, 2001.

Two goals in the first leg and three more in the return encounter ensured a place for Kaizer Chiefs in the quarterfinals of the Mandela Cup.

Chiefs displayed great teamwork with a touch of individual skill here and there to overcome the visitors from Seychelles 3-0 at the Johannesburg Stadium on Sunday evening.

Bad boys Jabu Pule and Patrick Mbuthu apologised in the best possible way as they inspired Amakhosi to an easy victory. Pule put the cherry on top when he opened the score in the 36th minute from a cross by Arthur Zwane.

The goal celebration was incredible as Pule took his “brother in crime” Mbuthu by the hand and headed for the touchline where the two bowed to the supporters, as if to say, “we are sorry for letting you down”.

The two former national under-23 stars caused uproar in the Amakhosi camp when they went missing and were alleged to have been involved in a drinking spree. They missed three league matches - one lost, one a draw and the last a victory. The coach reacted by sending them to the youth academy to polish their attitude.

But on the night they never showed any signs of fatigue of the Monday blues normally associated with heavy drinking.

The night belonged to the youngsters as another former under-23 star Daniel Matsau put Chiefs further ahead on the 52nd minute following a defensive blunder by Steve Hartel, who seemed to lose concentration while going for the ball.

Matsau put the matter beyond doubt in the 67th minute as he connected with a long punt from Mbuthu to net his brace. With Sunshine keeper Vincent Euphraise off his line, Matsau released the ball, which rebounded on the upright but the nippy striker made certain on the second attempt.

The goal summed up a poor run by the islanders in the competition, but a great result for Amakhosi, who now progress to the quarterfinals. The draw for the last eight of all three competitions will be made in Cairo on June 13.


Chiefs: Brian Baloyi, Patrick Mabedi, Lifa Qgosha (Martin Zwane 46th), Isaac Mabotsa, Jabu Pule (Fees Moloyi 77th), Thabo Mooki, Marco Mthembu, Patrick Mbuthu, Arthu Zwane, Luke Petros (Sbusiso Sithole 71st), Daniel Matsau.

Sunshine: Vincent Euphraise, Steve Hertel, Steve Constance, Denis Belle, Yves Mudeyi, Don Anacura (Steve Sanders 71st), Dennis Sanders (Cyril Edmond 81st), Brian Sonjana, Silla Bissiri, Randy Croisee (Henry Dufrene 81st), Brian Ravina.

Referee: Kizito Ndoro (Zimbabwe)

Share this article: