Chiefs trio in Amajita squad for Madagascar
Chiefs trio in Amajita squad for Madagascar

Posted in News on Aug 06, 2002.

Three Kaizer Chiefs youngsters, Buti Sithole, Damien Cornelli and Beven Bouwers will travel with the national under-20 side, Amajita to Madagascar for the return leg of their African Youth Championship qualifier.

Left-back Sithole was recently promoted to the senior team and made his debut in the Charity Cup semifinal against Orlando Pirates as a replacement for Kelvin Mushangazhike in the 46th minute and played second game in the final against Black Leopards when he came on for David Kannemeyer in the 70th minute.

The other two youngsters, defender Bouwers and midfielder Cornelli have been highly rated by KC Development Academy coaches and could also find themselves in the first team if they keep up their consistency at junior level.

Amajita are currently in camp to prepare for the return match against Madagascar. Amajita won the first leg 2-0 in Port Elizabeth. Both countries are vying for a position in the African Youth Championships scheduled for Burkina Faso in January 2003.

Amajita are expected to depart for Madagascar this Friday at 11h40. The match will be played on Sunday, 11 August 2002. Kick-off time is 13h30 South African time. SABC Radio Sport will carry updates of the match.

If South Africa win or draw against Madagascar, Amajita will play against the winner of either Zambia or Ethiopia on a home and away basis. Whoever wins at this stage, will go through to the finals in Burkina Faso.

Amajita are based at Milpark Holiday Inn Garden Court, in Johannesburg. The team will have two training sessions today. The first session is at 09h00 and the second is a training match against an Alexander Selection Team at 14h00. Both sessions will take place at John Orr School training grounds – just a stone-throw away from Milpark Holiday Inn.

The team will return next Tuesday at 17h50.


Goalkeepers: Thapedi Oscar Gregory Ramogoadi (Ajax Cape Town), Wayne Sandilands (SuperSport United)

Defenders: Vuyo Calvin Mere (Hellenic), Buti Joshua Sithole (Kaizer Chiefs), Siboniso Pa Gaxa (SuperSport United), Marvin Abrahams (1860 Munich - Germany), Beven Bouwers (Kaizer Chiefs), Ashley Opperman (Ajax Cape Town)

Midfielders: Lynch Tebogo Pule (Ajax Cape Town), Lance Davids (1860 Munich - Germany), Damien Cornelli (Kaizer Chiefs), Mbuizelo Daniel Van Wyk (SuperSport United), Lucas Itumeleng Sekwale (SuperSport United), Lindokuhle Emmanuel Madonsela (UPE-ECK), Ashwell Siyabonga Memela (Hellenic)

Strikers: Phumudzo Manenzhe (Orlando Pirates), Elrio Joseph van Heerden (FC Copenhagen - Denmark), Thando Mngomeni (Santos), Mogamat Rashied Thorne (Ajax Cape Town).

Share this article: