Chiefs trio makes Bafana preliminary squad
Chiefs trio makes Bafana preliminary squad

Posted in News on Dec 19, 2001.

Amakhosi trio of Brian Baloyi, Arthur Zwane and Jabu Pule were on Wednesday amongst the 33 players selected for the Bafana Bafana preliminary squad that will take part in a three-day camp to prepare for the up-coming African Cup of Nations championship to be stage in Mali next year.

The trio will amongst the players who are expected to attend a final local training camp to be held from December 26 to 28 in Johannesburg, in which the emphasis will be individual preparation of players.

All selected local players as well as overseas-based are expected to be part of the camp, which is scheduled for the Johannesburg Stadium, except for those individuals who are still on duty with their respective teams.

The team will assemble the day after Christmas in Sandton from which they will be transported to the city centre for their first training sessions.

The final squad to represent the 1996 African champions will then be announced on December 28 after the training sessions, in which they will take a few day’s rest and assemble against on the 3rd of January for the final preparations before jetting off to Mali for the showdown.

Amongst the players is the former Chiefs sensational striker Siyabonga Nomvete, who has since transferred to Udinese in the Italian Serie A.

The Squad:


1. John Tlale (Sundowns)

2. Hans Vonk (Heereenveen – Netherlands)

3. Andre Arendse (Santos)

4. Brian Baloyi (Kaizer Chiefs)


5. Nassif Morris (Aris Salonica – Greece)

6. Matthew Booth (Sundowns)

7. Bradley Carnell (VfB Stuttgart – Germany)

8. McBeth Sibaya (Jomo Cosmos)

9. Aaron Mokoena (Germinal Beerdschot – Belgium)

10. Pierre Issa (Watford – England)

11. Frank Schoeman (Lyngby – Denmark)

12. Jacob Lekgetho (Lokomotiv Moscow – Russia)

13. Mbulelo Mabizela (Orlando Pirates)

14. Thabang Molefe (Jomo Cosmos)


15. Dumisa Ngobe (Orlando Pirates)

16. Bennett Mnguni (Sundowns)

17. Quinton Fortune (Manchester United – England)

18. John Moshoeu (Bursaspor – Turkey)

19. Thabo Mngomeni (Orlando Pirates)

20. Sibusiso Zuma (FC Copenhagen – Denmark)

21. Delron Buckley (Bochum – Germany)

22. Dillon Sheppard (Ajax Cape Town)

23. Benedict Vilakazi (Orlando Pirates)

24. Tehobo Mokoena (St Gallen – Switzerland)

25. Eric Tinkler (Barnsley – England)

26. Arthur Zwane (Kaizer Chiefs)


27. Jabu Pule (Kaizer Chiefs)

28. Shaun Bartlett (Charlton Athletic – England)

29. Benni McCarthy (Celta Vigo – Spain)

30. Bradley August (Santos)

31. Lesley Manyathela (Orlando Pirates)

32. Patrick Mayo (SuperSport United)

33. Siyabonga Nomvete (Udinese – Italy)

Share this article: