Kannemeyer loses place in SA squad
Kannemeyer loses place in SA squad

Posted in News on Sep 11, 2002.

David Kannemeyer's 'poor show' at Ellis Park when Kaizer Chiefs lost 2-1 to SuperSport United on Wednesday night saw his name being erased from the Bafana squad to travel to Malawi next Monday.

This happened on Thursday when Bafana head-coach Ephraim Mashaba announced his 22-man squad to face Malawi in the first leg of the Cosafa final in Blantyre on September 22.

"I was worried about his poor performance against SuperSport," said Mashaba adressing journalists at Safa's offices.

Instead Mashaba selected Mandla Zwane, who became the third player from SuperSport United to make the Bafana side.

Peter Khoabane, who played a pivotal role in the middle field

when Bafana beat Madagascar 4-1 in Port Elizabeth in July, is

another player from the Pretoria-based side.

Mashaba retained goalkeepers Andre Arendse and Brian Baloyi of Santos and Chiefs respectively while Calvin Marlin of Ajax Cape Town missed the plane to Malawi.

Sundowns defender Matthew Booth was also left out and while

Mbulelo Mabizela of Orlando Pirates was called on to partner Moroka Swallows' Gary McNab, Chiefs' Cyril Nzama, Thabang Molefe of Jomo Cosmos and Wits University's Tony Coyle.

Sam Magalefa of Cosmos has also been roped in to bolster the

middlefield which lost the services of Chiefs ball-juggler Jabu

Pule, who disappeared without trace prior to Bafana's departure to

Ivory Coast last week.

Patrick Mayo, who had to be substituted by the then coach Jomo

Sono after being booed by his home fans at Telkom Park in PE, made

a suprising u-turn.

His brace against Chiefs which steered United to their second

consecutive Premiership victory of the season, is probably what

impressed Mashaba.

The former SA under-23-coach said there will always be changes

to the Bafana side, even when the locals host Malawi in the second

encounter in two weeks time.

The squad is:

Goalkeepers: Brian Baloyi (Kaizer Chiefs), Andre Arendse


Defenders: Cyril Nzama (Kaizer Chiefs), Tony Coyle, Ashley

Makhanya (Wits University), Mbulelo Mabizela (Orlando Pirates),

Gary McNab (Moroka Swallows), Mandla Zwane (Supersport United),

Tebang Molefe (SFK Lyn)

Midfielders: Stanton Fredericks (Kaizer Chiefs), Charles Motlohi (Sundowns), Benedict Vilakazi (Orlando Pirates), Japhet Zwane

(Moroka Swallows) Teboho Mokoena (Jomo Cosmos), Isaac Shai

(Sundowns), Goodman Mazibuko (Pirates), Sam Magalefa (Cosmos),

Peter Khoabone (Supersport).

Strikers: Patrick Mayo (SuperSport United), Jason Lakay (Golden

Arrows), Lebohang Kukame (Cosmos) and Jimmy Kauleza (Orlando Pirates).

Share this article: