Mthwethwa Returns and Du Preez Starts Against Sekhukhune
Mthwethwa Returns and Du Preez Starts Against Sekhukhune

Posted in News, Team News on Dec 30, 2023.

Kaizer Chiefs have made a trip up north for their last match of the year 2023 to face Sekhukhune United in a DStv Premiership encounter this evening.

The match is also the last one before the Afcon break – meaning that PSL action will only resume on 13 February 2024, after the competion of this weekend’s round of fixtures.

After giving Kaizer Chiefs supporters a Chrismas gift by winning last weekend’s game against Richards Bay at FNB Stadium, coach Cavin Johnson will now focus on granting Amakhosi a new year’s present, which will take his team to a pleasant four straight victories.

With this match being Amakhosi’s first fixture of the second round of the league campaign, the team lies in 6th spot on the log with 23 points after 15 outings. The hosts are in 14th position after collecting 17 points from their 14 games.

While the Chiefs medical room still contains Zitha Kwinika, George Matlou, Keagan Dolly and Thatayaone Ditlhokwe, who will all only be back in February, the good news is that Sibongiseni Mthethwa is back after missing last weekend’s game due to being injured.

The coach has not wasted time in restoring two players who are back from injury into the starting XI for today’s match. Mthethwa slots in the midfield, replacing Edson Castillo, and upfront, Ashley Du Preez, who got his first run in months last weekend, will come on for Christian Saile in attack

The coach will retain his 4-3-3 formation.

Bruce Bvuma keeps his position after three clean sheets in the last three matches.

The backline will have S’fiso Hlanti at left-back, Edmilson Dove will partner Given Msimango at centre-back, and Reeve Frosler is on the right of Amakhosi’s defence.

Sibongiseni Mthethwa will work with Yusuf Maart in the middle of the park. Last weekend’s goal scorer Nkosingiphile Ngcobo in front of the two midfielders.

The flanks will have Pule Mmodi on the left and Du Preez on the right-wing.

Jason Gonzalez will start his second game in a row as leader of the attack for the Glamour Boys.

Maart wears the captain's armband again this evening.

The match officials are referee, Philangenkosi Khumalo, and assistants, Cledwyn Baloyi and Jantjie Dlamini. The match’s fourth official is Romeo Matibidi.

The DStv Premiership clash between The Glamour Boys and Babina Noko will start at 20:00 at the New Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane. The match is live on SuperSport’s PSL Channel 202 on DStv and SABC radio stations - with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI: Bvuma (32), Hlanti (23), Dove (2), Msimango (25), Frosler (39), Mthethwa (5), Maart © (8), Nk Ngcobo (12), Mmodi (13), Du Preez (9), Gonzalez (14)

Subs: Petersen (44); Solomons (18), Nj Ngcobo (27), Zwane (37), Mashiane (19), Potsane (11), Shabalala (42), Saile Basomboli (21), Chivaviro (7)

Coach: Cavin Johnson

Sekhukhune XI: Leaner (16); Mobbie (2), Ntiya-Ntiya (36), Tshibwabwa (29), Baartman (5), Sithole (24), Mokotjo © (12), Mokwana (17), Ohizu (34), Mkhize (15), Mncube (10)

Subs: Sangare (30); Rikhotso (22), Cardoso (4),Tiwani (43), Webber (8), Mtshali (6),Thutlwa (21), Makgaka (46), Masiya (20)

Coach: Lehlohonolo Seema

Share this article: