Nzama for Italy
Nzama for Italy

Posted in News on Apr 22, 2001.

Kaizer Chiefs star defender Cyril Nzama will be flying to Itlay with Bafana Bafana for an international friendly match on Wednesday in Perugia.

Nzama is on suspension and is not eligible for Amakhosi's domestic matches. He will miss the Bob Save Super Bowl quarterfinal match against Bloemfontein Celtic on Tuesday in Free State.

The squad departs on Monday and will return on Thursday. Other members of the squad will return on Friday.

Meanwhile, Amakhosi keeper Brian Baloyi, midfield-cum-striker Jabu Pule and striker Siyabonga Nomvete have been included in the 23-man Bafana squad for the Cosafa match against Mozambique on Sunday.

The squad will be training at Marks Park and coach Ephraim "Shakes" Mashaba, who will be in charge of the squad in the absence of national coach Carlos Queiroz and his assistant Trott Moloto, will announce a final squad and the captain on Tuesday.

South Africa:

Goalkeepers: Andre Arendse (Santos), Hans Vonk (Heereeveen),

Rowen Fernandez (Wits University).

Defenders: Cyril Nzama (Kaizer Chiefs), Frank Schoeman (Lyngby), Pierre Issa (Chelsea), Jacob Lekgetho (Lokomotiv), Aaron Mokoena (Ajax Amsterdam), Bradley Carnell (Stuttgart).

Midfielders: Dumise Ngobe (Ankaragucu), Sibusiso Zuma (Copenhagen),

Helman Mkhalela, John Moshoeu (Bursaspor), Alfred Phiri (Genclerbirligh), Steven Pienaar (Ajax Amsterdam), Quinton Fortune (Quinton Fortune).

Strikers: Shaun Bartlett (Charlton Athletic), Phil Masinga (Bari),

Benedict McCarthy (Celta Vigo).

Italy squad:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Parma), Francesco Toldo (Fiorentina)

Defenders: Daniele Adani (Fiorentina), Valerio Bertotto (Udinese), Fabio Cannavaro (Parma), Paolo Maldini (Milan), Alessandro Nesta (Lazio), Giuseppe Pancaro (Lazio).

Midfielders: Francesco Coco (Milan), Angelo Di Livio (Fiorentina), Stefano Fiore (Juventus), Fabio Liverani (Perugia), Alessio Tacchinardi (Juventus), Damiano Tommasi (Roma), Gianluca Zambrotta (Juventus).

Forwards: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus), Enrico Chiesa (Fiorentina), Filippo Inzaghi (Juventus), Vincenzo Montella (Roma), Francesco Totti (Roma).

Share this article: