Mathoho and Ekstein start
Mathoho and Ekstein start

Posted in News, Team News on Sep 23, 2017.

Erick Mathoho and Hendrick Ekstein return to the starting line-up to face Golden Arrows tonight. ‘Tower’ replaces Lorenzo Gordinho, who fractured his ribs during Friday’s pre-match training session, while ‘Pule’ replaces the young Wiseman Meyiwa.

Kaizer Chiefs are on a good run, having collected seven points from their last three league encounters. There were wins over Cape Town City and Maritzburg United, while the Bidvest Wits clash resulted in a draw.

Meanwhile, Khotso Malopo, who made his official debut against Maritzburg United on Wednesday, has kept his place in the starting XI.

Amakhosi have a lot of players out due to injury, including Ramahlwe Mphahlele, George Maluleka and Tsepo Maluleka, while Teenage Hadebe is working hard to get fully fit again.

The visitors are presently in 2nd position on the log, one point behind leaders, Baroka FC, who have played one more game. The Glamour Boys are in fifth position with eight points from five matches.

Chiefs host Arrows in an Absa Premiership game at FNB Stadium tonight (kick-off is at 20:00).

The clash will be refereed by Daniel Bennett, who was also in charge of Wednesday’s game against Maritzburg United.

Chiefs’ line up: Khune, captain (32); Mathoho (3), Katsande (31), Cardoso (4); Moleko (18), Malope (35), Ekstein (27), Jayiya (6), Zulu (22); Tshabalala (14), Páez (9)

Subs: Khuzwayo (16), Buchanan (10), Meyiwa (38), Zuma (28), Parker (25), Twala (7), Chirambadare (11)

Head Coach: Steve Komphela

Arrows’ line-up: Gumede (32); Dube (14), Mngwengwe, captain (21), Mzava (5), Nkombelo (2); Sibiya (25), Cele (8), Bilankulu (28), Magubane (27); Mahachi (11), Lamola (41)

Subs: Mbaeva (1), Molefe (24), Mutizwa (19), Buthelezi (3), Sibeko (22), Jooste (17), Dlamini (38)

Coach: Clinton Larsen

Referee:                                  Daniel Bennett
1st Assistant:                       Moses Phale

2nd Assistant:                     Thembisile Windvoel

4th Official:                            Cedric Muvahli
Match Commissioner:       Robert Pillay


Share this article: