Chiefs Make Five Changes Against Chippa
Chiefs Make Five Changes Against Chippa

Posted in News, Team News on Apr 27, 2023.

Kaizer Chiefs make five changes for this afternoon’s DStv Premiership match against Chippa United at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Gqeberha.

S’fiso Hlanti and Siyethemba Sithebe return after serving their respective one-match suspensions last Sunday, while Mduduzi Shabalala starts ahead of Samkelo Zwane. The other two changes have been imposed on coach Arthur Zwane due to injuries sustained by Edmilson Dove and captain, Keagan Dolly in the last match against Sekhukhune United.

Hlanti replaces Dillan Solomons at the back and Sithebe comes in for Cole Alexander in midfield. Dove’s place in the heart of defence is taken by Njabulo Ngcobo, and Happy Mashiane steps in to deputise for Dolly on the left wing.

The first round clash between the two teams was won by Chippa, and Chiefs will want to avenge that result by winning the match in Chippa’s backyard on this Freedom Day.

The Chilli Boys are fighting to stave off relegation and currently lie second from the bottom of the league table, with 26 points from 26 matches. They have roped in the services of their former coach Lehlohonolo Seema to assist them for the remainder of the season.

Amakhosi, who are still 4th on the log after 26 games, with 41 points in the kitty, want to finish as high as possible so they can play on the continent next season.

Coach Zwane keeps to a 4-5-1 for this afternoon’s fixture.

Brandon Petersen is this afternoon’s goalkeeper.

With Hlanti back in the team, he will take up the left-back position and Reeve Frosler moves to the right of defence. Siyabonga Ngezana will be joined by Ngcobo in central defence.

Yusuf Maart will work with returnee Sithebe in the middle of the park. Shabalala is in front of the two holding midfielders.

With Dolly out, Ashley Du Preez will run on the right and Mashiane will be on the left flank.

Christian Saile Basomboli is the main striker.

Maart will officially wear the captain’s armband for the first time.

The match referee is Philangenkosi Khumalo. He will be assisted by Kenny Mamegwa and Khumasi Razwimisani. The fourth official is Xola Sitela.

The DStv Premiership encounter between the Glamour Boys and the Chilli Boys starts at 15:00 at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Gqeberha. The match will be live on SuperSport’s PSL Channel 202 on DStv and various SABC radio stations - with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI: Petersen (1); Hlanti (23), Ngezana (30), Ngcobo (27), Frosler (39), Sithebe (6), Maart © (8), Mashiane (19), Du Preez (9), Shabalala (42), Basomboli (21)

Subs: Khune (32); Mathoho (3), Solomons (18), Nj Kwinika (4), Alexander (17), Zwane (37), Matlou (22), Sekgota (14), Duba (36)

Coach: Arthur Zwane

Chippa XI: Kazapua (1); Pietersen © (5), Makhele (34), Pfumbizai (15), Ntsabo (3), Poggenpoel (6), Luthuli (36), Abrahams (12), Lebitso (28), Maphangule (26), Ighodaro (37),

Subs: Nwabali (32); Mathiane (20), Mbenyane (7), Banda (4), Mini (8), Konqobe (24), Chauke (31), Maarman (17), Mqokozo (45) 

Coach: Lehlohonolo Seema

Share this article: