Chiefs win Club of the Year award
Chiefs win Club of the Year award

Posted in News on Apr 15, 2002.

Kaizer Chiefs' brilliant season which saw them win four trophies including the African Cup Winners Cup earned them the 2001 club of the Year award at the second edition of the Caf awards ceremony on Tuesday.

Chiefs, who made history by becoming the first Southern African team to win the Mandela Cup last year collected three more domestic cups for their Naturena cabinet.

Amakhosi first collected the Vodacom Cup by beating Hearts of Oak of Ghana, then went to defeat Sundowns to clinch the BP Top eight.

And then they registered a final cup history score of 5-0 when

they humiliated Jomo Cosmos to take the R2 million worth Coca Cola Cup.

Chiefs were nominated with Petro Athletico of Angola and JS

Kabylie of Algeria.

In a surprise result the eagerly awaited award of Footballer of

the year went to Senegalese El Hadji Diouf who plays for RC Lens in France.

Diouf beat favourite Ghanaian Samuel Kuffour of Bayern Munich and Samuel Eto'o of Real Mallorca and Cameroon.

This was not the end for Senegal as they went ahead and swept two more awards, that of team of the year and coach of the year.

Bruno Metsu guided Senegal to the Nations Cup final which they lost on penalties to Cameroon and also helped them qualify for their first World Cup finals won coach of the year.

Metsu beat Emmanuel Afraine who coached Ghana's under-20 team and Luis Oliviera Goncalves of Inter-Clube and Angola's under-20.

Though Kuffour did not scoop footballer of the year award,

Ghana's development side was recognised as young player of the year went to Derek Boateng who plays for Panathinaikos in Greece.

However, another South African nominee in the African Champions League best player category, Bennet Mnguni lost out to Flavio of Petro Athletico, Angola.

While Sundowns co-chairperson Nastacia Tsichlas was awarded with a woman in football achievement.

Best goal which was won by South Africa's Thabo Mngomeni last year went to Zoubier Baya, a goal he scored for Tunisia against DR Congo.

Best save was that produced by Essam Al Hadari of Al Ahly when they played Esperance of Tunisia in the Champions League semi-final second leg.

Cameroon, who swept four awards last year went home empty-handed this year.

Other winners:

Merit award: Abdelhamid Bassiouny (Egypt)

Special achievement award: Petro Atletico (Angola)

Career merit award: Said Belqoba (Morocco)

Best Futsal player: Tamer Ismail (Egypt)

Fair play award: Nigeria

Share this article: