Five Chiefs players in Bafana squad
Five Chiefs players in Bafana squad

Posted in News on Aug 14, 2002.

The Premier League match between Kaizer Chiefs and Sundowns scheduled for August 25 will not take place as Amakhosi have five players in the national team for the Cosafa semifinal clash against Swaziland on the same day.

The players are goalkeeper Brian Baloyi, defenders Cyril Nzama and David Kannemeyer, midfielders Jabu Pule and Stanton Fredericks.

New South African coach Ephraim Mashaba on Thursday named three uncapped players in his first squad, for the Cosafa Castle Cup semifinal against Swaziland later this month.

Mashaba, appointed to the post earlier this month, named Scottish-born defender Gary McNab and striker Justin Lakay and Sisa Nombe in his 18-man squad for the match at Polokwane, 300km north of Johannesburg, on August 24.

The winner will play Malawi in the final of the annual southern African championship next month.

Lakay and Nombe are called up for the first time while McNab, born in Dunfermline, has previously been in the South African squad but never capped.

Mashaba retained five players who went to the World Cup finals in June under his predecessor Jomo Sono, but has not called up the bulk of the country's foreign-based players.

Of those named for the match against Swaziland, only defender Thabang Molefe, who recently moved to Lyn Oslo in Norway, is based outside the country.

Returning to the squad after long absences are goalkeeper Brian Baloyi and defender David Kannemeyer, both from Johannesburg club Kaizer Chiefs.


Goalkeepers: Andre Arendse (Santos), Brian Baloyi (Kaizer Chiefs)

Defenders: Matthew Booth (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tony Coyle (Wits University), David Kannemeyer (Kaizer Chiefs), Thabang Molefe (Lyn Oslo, Norway), Gary McNab (Moroka Swallows), Cyril Nzama (Kaizer Chiefs)

Midfielders: Stanton Fredericks (Kaizer Chiefs), Peter Khoabane (SuperSport United), Clement Mazibuko (Umtata Bush Bucks), Tebeho Mokoena (Jomo Cosmos), Jabu Pule (Kaizer Chiefs), Benedict Vilakazi (Orlando Pirates)

Strikers: Jason Lakay (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Jimmy Kauleza, Lesley Manyathela (both Orlando Pirates), Sisa Nombe (Manning Rangers).

Share this article: