Billat returns as Chiefs are forced to make 6 changes
Billat returns as Chiefs are forced to make 6 changes

Posted in News, Team News on Nov 28, 2021.

Suspensions and Covid-19 related challenges have forced Kaizer Chiefs to make no less than six changes to the starting lineup for this afternoon’s match against Swallows FC in the DStv Premiership. This crunch Soweto Derby clash will take place at Dobsonvile Stadium in Soweto at 15:30.

This is Amakhosi’s third game in seven days. Their last game against AmaZulu ended 1-1 at FNB Stadium. The Dube Birds lost their last game to TS Galaxy seven days ago.  Chiefs are 5th on the log with 19 points from 12 games and the home side are second from bottom with 8 points from 11 outings.

The first two players out for today’s game are Njabulo Blom who is suspended for one game and Cole Alexander who received his marching orders in the last game. Blom is replaced by Ramahlwe Mphahlele, while Anthony Akumu Agay will come in for Alexander.  Other players coming in are Austin Dube for Reeve Frosler, Kearyn Baccus in for Njabulo Ngcobo, Khama Billiat in for Kgaogelo Sekgota and Happy Mashiane replacing Phathutshedzo Nange in midfield

Chiefs will switch to a 4-3-3 formation for today’s match.

Daniel Akpeyi is this afternoon’s goalkeeper.

In defence Chiefs will have Daniel Cardoso and Mulomowandau Mathoho in the middle while Mphahlele will be on the right and Dube on the left of Amakhosi’s defence.

In the middle Chiefs will have Agay, Baccus and Bernard Parker.

Upfront Chiefs will have Mashine on the left, Keagan Dolly on the right and Billiat will face Swallows goal posts.

Parker will wear the captain’s armband.

On the bench Chiefs will see Lebogang Manyama make a return after an injury that has seen him sidelined for most of the current campaign.

The match officials are referee Xola Sitela. He will be assisted by Kenny Mamegwa and Lalelani Mngadi. The fourth official is Othusitse Modise.

The DStv Premiership between the Glamour Boys and The Dube Birds will start at 15:30 at Dobsonville Stadium in Soweto. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The game will be live on SuperSport’s PSL Channel 202 on DStv and carried by various SABC Radio stations, with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI: Akpeyi (40), Mathoho (3), Cardoso (4), Mphahlele (2), Dube (29), Agay (5), Baccus (6), Mashiane (19),  Dolly (10), Parker (25), Billiat (11)

Subs:  Bvuma (44), Ntiya-Ntiya (36), Ngezana (30), Nk Ngcobo (12) Radede (33), Sekgota (14);  Manyama (21), Kambole (7)

Coach: Stuart Baxter

Swallows XI: February (31), Matlaba (27), Margeman (21), Sait (34),  Langeman (44), Mohlamme (36), Mokoena (9), Khupe (33), Ndlovu (22), Saleng (10), Mahlatsi (3)

Subs: Ngobeni (17), Solomons (18), Letlabika (5), Mbokoma (11), Nyatama (15),  Sasman (28), Makgwalwa (35), Mhlongo Gamildien (12), Matlou (42),

Coach: Brandon Truter

Share this article: