Blom back and Sekgota starts against AmaZulu
Blom back and Sekgota starts against AmaZulu

Posted in News, Team News on Nov 24, 2021.

Kaizer Chiefs will this afternoon meet AmaZulu FC for the second time this season in the DStv Premiership. The two teams first met on 1 October in Durban for the first leg and will engage for a second-round fixture at FNB Stadium this afternoon.

Amakhosi come into this game on the back of a win against Maritzburg United on Sunday in Pietermaritzburg while AmaZulu drew their match against Stellenbosch on Saturday.

Given that Chiefs have three games in a space of 7 days, coach Stuart Baxter has been forced to make a few changes to try and keep his team fresh. For today’s game, he has decided to make two changes in his line-up. After missing Sunday’s game, Njabulo Blom will replace Ramahlwe Mphahlele and it in attack Khama Billiat will make way for Kgaogelo Sekgota.

Chiefs will switch to a 3-5-2 formation for today’s match.

Daniel Akpeyi keeps his position in goals.

In defence Chiefs will have Daniel Cardoso, Mulomowandau Mathoho and Njabulo Ngcobo dealing with AmaZulu’s attack.

Reeve Frosler is on the left and Njabulo Blom on the right as wingbacks.

Cole Alexander, Phathutshedzo Nange and Sekgota will complete Amakhosi’s midfield.

Sunday’s goalscorer Bernard Parker who will wear the captain’s armband will also lead the attack with Keagan Dolly.

On the bench Chiefs will see Lebogang Manyama make a return after an injury that has seen him sidelined for most of the current campaign.

The match officials are referee Abongile Tom. He will be assisted by Elphas Sitole and Sbusiso Sisilana. The fourth official is Joseph Makhubo.

The DStv Premiership between the Glamour Boys and Usuthu will start at 17:30 at FNB Stadium in Nasrec. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The game will be shown live on SuperSport’s PSL Channel 202 on DStv and carried by various SABC Radio stations, with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI: Akpeyi (40), Mathoho (3), Cardoso (4), Nj Ngcobo (27); Blom (45), Frosler (39), Alexander (17), Nange (24), Sekgota (14); Dolly (10), Parker (25)

Subs:  Petersen (1), Mphahlele (2), Dube (29), Agay (5), Baccus (6), Nk Ngcobo (12), Mashiane (19), Radebe (33), Manyama (21)

Coach: Stuart Baxter

AmaZulu XI: Mothwa (44), Gumede (17), Mgwazela (39), Xoki (27); Malepe (4);  Makhaula © (8), Buchanan (45), Sithebe (10), Qalinge (15), Maduna (34); Mulenga (30)

Subs: Boshoff (43); Khumalo (22), Mlambo (23),Sikhakhane (5), Ekstein (28), Memela (11), De Jong (14), Majoro (20), Ntuli (7)

Coach: Benedict McCarthy

Share this article: