Shabalala Starts For Chiefs Against Matsatsantsa
Shabalala Starts For Chiefs Against Matsatsantsa

Posted in News, Team News on May 13, 2023.

Match day number 29 will see Kaizer Chiefs face SuperSport United for the second last game of the season at the Royal Bafokeng Sports Palace in Phokeng, North West, this afternoon.

Chiefs return to DStv Premiership action after taking part in a Nedbank Cup semi-final against Orlando Pirates last Saturday at FNB Stadium.

Matsatsantsa and Amakhosi are third and fourth on the log respectively, with four points separating them. Chiefs have collected 44 points and the hosts have 48 after 28 games each.

The match will be a battle for a CAF Confederation Cup spot as Chiefs will want to win the match and get closer to overtaking Matsatsantsa on the log next weekend.

Coach Arthur Zwane will make one change to the team that started the game against Pirates last week. Mduduzi Shabalala comes on for Samkelo Zwane in midfield.

Chiefs will go for a 4-5-1 formation against Matsatsantsa

Brandon Petersen is in goal for Amakhosi.

S’fiso Hlanti is at left-back. Siyabonga Ngezana and Edmilson Dove are at the centre of defence, and Reeve Frosler is on the right.

Siyethemba Sithebe and Yusuf Maart are in midfield, with Shabalala in an offensive role.

Ashley Du Preez will be on the left-wing and Dillan Solomons will be on the right.

Christian Saile Basomboli leads Amakhosi’s attack.

Maart will wear the captain’s armband for the third time.

The match officials for this afternoon are referee Skhumbuzo Gasa, with assistance from Cledwin Baloyi and Modisa Moretsi. The fourth official is Philangenkosi Khumalo


The DStv Premiership encounter between the Glamour Boys and Matsatsantsa a Pitori commences at 15:00 at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Phokeng. The match will be live on SuperSport’s PSL Channel 202 on DStv and various SABC radio stations - with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI: Petersen (1), Hlanti (23), Dove (2), Ngezana (30), Frosler (39), Sithebe (6), Maart © (8), Solomons (18), Shabalala (42), Du Preez (9), Basomboli (21)

Subs: Bvuma (44); Nj Ngcobo (27), Dube (29), Kwinika (4), Zwane (37) Mashiane (19), Matlou (22), Sekgota (14), Bimenyimana (28)

Coach: Arthur Zwane

SuperSport XI: Goss (20);  Ditlhokwe (6), Hlatswayo (3), Phillips (27),  Bhasera © (14), Maseko (40), Maswanganyi (28), Ndlovu (15), Magerman (23), Grobler (7), Lungu (17)

Subs: Chigova (1); Ngoma (11), Nhlapo (18), Lepasa (10), Webber (12), Gabuza (13), Donn (26), Niang (29), Mbatha (16),

Coach: Gavin Hunt

Share this article: